Foundation Achievement Awards
Class Contact & Info
Make a Contribution
Upcoming Events
eNotice Archives
Foundation Message Center
Photo Center
Class Reunions
 Surrattsville History
 Surrattsville H.S.

 Foundation  •  Join the E-mail List  •  Memory Fund  •  Search  •  Home

2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010
2011 2012 2013 2014 2015          

2016 Foundation Scholarship Recipients

  2016 Scholarship Recipients  
  L-to-R: Jenelle Collier, Atiba McGill, Monique Countiss  


-JENELLE COLLIER was awarded the Foundation's Esther Clifton Miller Memorial Scholarship, which was endowed by Esther’s daughter Nancy Miller (67). Jenelle maintained a GPA of 4.125 and was valedictorian of the Class of 2016. She served as Vice President of the SGA, was a Girls’ State representative, was Captain of the Girls’ Basketball team and played varsity Softball, was first chair in the strings section of the Orchestra, was President of the Chorus, was Editor of the Yearbook, and participated in numerous community service projects.

-ATIBA MCGILL was awarded The Foundation's General Fund scholarship. While at Surratts, Atiba was on the Honor Roll, was Vice President of the Class of 2016, and participated in AFJROTC, SGA, Chorus, History Club, the Student Leaders organization, the Debate League and Organizing for Action. For his outstanding achievements as Wing/Group Commander of the School’s AFJROTC unit, he was awarded its highest award, the Jesse J. Ware Award. Atiba is also very active in community activities at his church.

-MONIQUE COUNTISS was awarded the Foundation's Thomas V. Miller, Sr. Memorial Scholarship, which was endowed by his daughter Nancy Miller (67). While at Surratts, Monique participated in Volleyball, GEMS (a peer mentoring program sponsored by the Guidance Department), the Art Club, the Ceramics Club and served as a volunteer working with profoundly disabled students in the School’s Special Education Department.